Travel Log: England


I know.  I’ve been remiss in posting on my blog.  Please forgive me. Paris was Magnifique! Of course, London wasn’t too shabby either.  Even though I go there fairly often to visit the in-laws, and it’s become less of a novelty, I have to say, the English countryside still takes my breath away. So rather than just dive into the gastronomic indulgence that was Paris, I thought I’d break my blog into a two-part travel series to give credit where credit is due. England rocks.

My husband’s family lives in Surrey, and after being cooped up inside for three days over Christmas due to some crazy weather, we all needed a stretch of the legs and some fresh air.  Boxing Day (the day after Christmas for you non-anglophiles) was spent at Epsom Downs playing footie in the mud, chasing a boomerang and watching other people’s dogs frolic together.  We were all rosy-cheeked and ready for tea by the fire when we got home.  Yes, really.

IMG_2735

The next day, Rob, Molly and I headed to Oxfordshire.  An old friend is co-owner of The White Hart Hotel in Nettlebed, a charming and stylish inn that dates back to the 14th century.

white-hart-6

white-hart-3white-hart-16

white-hart-10white-hart-rooms-5

white-hart-rooms-3

We stay there every time we visit the UK.  Henley-on-Thames is only five minutes away, and is possibly the most enticing village in England. Known for its annual Regatta, the river Thames was literally bursting its banks when we were there.

flooding henley 4

flooding henley

We visited friends living in Bourne End, and they took us to a colorful pub called The Bounty which is only accessed by foot or boat.  It was then that I noticed every long walk in England ends with either a cup of tea or a pint of beer.

The Bounty

The very next day, we drove to London, with a brief stop at Windsor Castle,

DSC08789and caught the Eurostar to Paris…..and the gastronomic adventure began.

To be continued in my next blog…..

Leave a Reply

