Women’s History Month


I’ve been thinking about Women’s History Month and the many fabulous women who broke the ceilings above so we can vote, have equal pay for equal work (when is that actually going to be equal?), our right to choose and so many other things that my daughter will benefit from. I acknowledge them all with grateful awe.

90554-004-1C286E84elizabeth-and-lady-catherine2

I started to think about other women in other arenas of the female experience. Books. Fashion. Art. So, on this month just for us girls, I will set forth some of my favorite women who paved the way in things not usually celebrated.

Here is the first of my lists. My favorite books written by women authors with female protagonists. Not in any order. Oh, alright, maybe a little bit in order of my love for them.

1. Ayn Rand – I started with the Fountainhead, then Atlas Shrugged (still my favorite book of all time) and We The Living.  Changed my vision of politics, economics and entrepreneurial spirit forever.

2.  Marion Zimmer BradleyThe Mists of Avalon tells the story of the legend of King Arthur through the eyes of his sister, Morgan Le Fay.  Brilliant perspective on Paganism vs Christianity and the shift of power from Matriarchal to Patriarchal society.  Powerful women and men’s quest to control them.

3. Jane AustenPride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma. She captures both the strength and frailty of women in a time before equal rights.  Not to mention romance!

4. Alice Walker The Color Purple.  Amazing, tragic story of courage and love in the face of adversity.

5. Katherine NevilleThe Eight – why no one has made a movie out of the book yet is still a mystery.  It’s an adventurous romp back and forth through time (1970″s and 1790’s) to solve an ancient mystery.  Smart and sexy female protagonist, unique plot, lots of twists and turns.  Great vacation read.

Leave a Reply

